Easy Easy Baby - Essential Varetta Dillard 2CD

In stock
Only 1 left
JASMCD3281 604988328127

Varetta Dillard
Easy Easy Baby - The Essential Varetta Dillard 2CD

Rated by many as the equal of singers like LaVern Baker, and Ruth Brown, Varetta Dillard was blessed with a powerful, versatile voice, and her recorded legacy remains seriously impressive.
But the downside was that she was physically handicapped, which seriously compromised her career, most notably with regard to live performances.
And although Varetta registered a trio of Top 10 R&B hits during the early 1950s, she failed to achieve significant crossover success, and has largely remained a cult figure, little known outside of collector circles.
Her recording career spanned eleven years, 1951 to 1962, during which she released thirty singles across five different record labels, and also sang on a couple of other rarities.
This double disc set comprises at least one side of each of those releases (in many cases, both sides) plus a dozen or so tracks which were not released the first time around.

More Information
Disc 1
  1. Please Come Back To Me
  2. Hurry Up
  3. Easy Easy Baby
  4. A Letter In Blues
  5. Here In My Heart
  6. Them There Eyes
  7. Double Crossing Daddy
  8. Tortured Love
  9. I Cried and Cried
  10. Double Crossing Daddy
  11. Three Lies
  12. Mercy Mr Percy
  13. I Love You
  14. I Ain’t Gonna Tell
  15. Send Me Some Money
  16. Love
  17. Johnny Has Gone
  18. You’re The Answer To My Prayer
  19. Promise Mr Thomas
  20. I’ll Never Forget You
  21. I Can’t Stop Now
  22. Mama Don’t Want
  23. Darling Listen To The Words Of This Song
  24. Cherry Blossom
  25. I’m Gonna Tell My Daddy
  26. That Old Feeling
  27. See See Rider Blues
  28. Got You On My Mind
  29. I Miss You Jimmy
Disc 2
  1. If You Want To Be My Baby
  2. One More Time
  3. Pray For Me Mother
  4. Leave A Happy Fool Alone
  5. Give Me The Right
  6. Time Was
  7. I Got A Lot Of Love
  8. Undecided
  9. That’s Why I Cry
  10. Star Of Fortune
  11. The Rules Of Love
  12. Falling
  13. Old Fashioned
  14. What’ll I Do
  15. Just Multiply
  16. Honey
  17. The Square Dance Rock
  18. Good Gravy Baby
  19. Scorched
  20. The Lovin’ Bird
  21. Good To Me
  22. Teaser
  23. You Don’t Know What You’re Missing
  24. A Little Bitty Tear
  25. Mercy Mr Percy
  26. What Can I Say
  27. You Better Come Home
  28. I Don’t Know What It Is But I Like It
  29. Whole Lot Of Lip
  30. You Ain’t Foolin’ Nobody
  31. Say What?
  32. Breaking Hearts
  33. Fly By Night