In Session - I'm A Lucky Lucky Man CD

In stock
0604988324129 JASMCD3241

Henry Gray
In Session - I'm A Lucky Lucky Man CD

Where would the Chicago blues scene have been without Henry Gray as mainstay on piano for most of the big stars?
He features on records by famous names such as Jimmy Rogers, Howlin' Wolf, Jimmy Reed and Billy Boy Arnold.
This CD presents Henry Gray in the 'In Session' series, not only with some of these big names but sessions recorded under his own name but never issued at the time.
His first session was in 1952 with Jimmy Rogers and later that year with Morris Pejoe, both sessions for Chess Records.
His work in the studio in 1955 with Howlin' Wolf produced the minor hit Who Will Be Next.
Jimmy Reed rarely used piano on his Vee Jay Records recordings, but three from one session have Gray pounding away.
Henry also pops up in the middle of Billy Boy's Here's My Picture to take an amazing solo.
A switch to Parrot records with Dusty Brown, then a session on Blue Lake under his own name before the classic G. 'Davy' Crockett track Look out Mable - a recording revered by rock 'n' rollers to this day.
Finally we have three more from 1961 with Howlin' Wolf including the iconic Going Down Slow enhanced with vocal interjections from Willie Dixon.
This release presents the best of Chicago Blues in its heyday with the one of the most talented pianists around at that time.

More Information
Disc 1
  1. Mistreated Baby • Jimmy Rogers & His Rocking Four
  2. The Last Time • Jimmy Rogers & His Rocking Four
  3. Tired Of Crying Over You • Morris Pejoe
  4. I Declare That Ain't Right • Little Henry
  5. I Declare That Ain't Right • Little Henry
  6. Matchbox Blues • Little Henry
  7. Can't Get Along • Morris Pejoe
  8. It'll Plumb Get It • Morris Pejoe
  9. Who Will Be Next • Howlin Wolf
  10. I Have A Little Girl • Howlin Wolf
  11. Hurt My Feelings • Morris Pejoe
  12. She Don't Want Me No More • Jimmy Reed
  13. Come On Baby • Jimmy Reed
  14. I Don't Go For That • Jimmy Reed
  15. Here's My Picture • Billy Boy Arnold
  16. You've Got Me Wrong • Billy Boy Arnold
  17. He Don't Love You • Dusty Brown
  18. Hurry Home • Dusty Brown
  19. Watch Yourself • Henry Gray
  20. That Ain't Right • Henry Gray
  21. Goodbye Baby • Henry Gray
  22. You Messed Up • Henry Gray
  23. Look Out Mable • G. Davy Crockett
  24. Did You Ever Love Somebody • G. Davy Crockett
  25. You'll Be Mine • Howlin Wolf
  26. Just Like I Treat You • Howlin Wolf
  27. Going Down Slow • Howlin Wolf