Signature Voice of the Platters Volume 1 1955-1961 CD

In stock
0604988268225 JASMCD2682

Tony Williams
Signature Voice of the Platters Volume 1 1955-1961 CD


The Platters were one of the world’s most successful vocal groups during the 1950s, with thirty-five hit records in The States alone, of which several were million sellers and four were #1 chart toppers.
The lead singer on all of these was the mercurial Tony Williams, a man with a perfect voice.
Williams also occasionally cut solo records during the 1950s and he eventually quit The Platters in 1961 to pursue a solo career, signing to the new Reprise Records label.
This is the first of two collections which anthologise Tony’s solo recordings between 1955-62, chronologically; Volume 1 deals with 1955 to '61, and Volume 2 covers 1961 to '62.
Volume 1 comprises his solo Mercury releases, notably his 1959 LP A Girl Is A Girl Is A Girl, a couple of Platters singles on which he was given featured billing, and his early Reprise sides.
Tony’s Reprise recordings are almost impossible to find elsewhere on CD.

More Information
Disc 1
  1. Oochi Pachi
  2. When You Return
  3. Let's Start All Over Again
  4. Peg O' My Heart
  5. Rose of Washington Square
  6. Ramona
  7. Charmaine
  8. Peggy O'Neil
  9. Mona Lisa
  10. Diane
  11. Amapola
  12. Jeannie
  13. Ida Sweet As Apple Cider
  14. Macushla
  15. Laura
  16. Ebb Tide
  17. In Apple Blossom Time
  18. Red Sails In the Sunset
  19. Sad River
  20. Sleepless Nights
  21. Movin' In
  22. The Miracle
  23. My Prayer
  24. The Great Pretender
  25. Only You
  26. You'll Never Never Know
  27. You've Got The Magic Touch
  28. On My Word of Honour