Texas Moon CD

In stock
Only 1 left
4000127159076 BCD15907

Tommy Duncan
Texas Moon CD

Bob Wills and Tommy Duncan were partners since 1932, when Wills hired him to replace Milton Brown as vocalist in the Light Crust Doughboys.
When Wills left the Doughboys in 1933 to form what became the Texas Playboys, Duncan went with him.
For the next 15 years, as the group's fame spread through New Antonio Rose, Roly Poly, New Spanish Two-Step and similar hits, Bob and Tommy remained a team.
Finally, growing alienation between them led Wills to fire Tommy in September 1948.
Duncan immediately formed the Western All-Stars, made up almost totally of topnotch Playboy alumni including pianist Millard Kelso, guitarists Jimmy Wyble and Cameron Hill, Noel Boggs on steel guitar and fiddlers Joe Holley and Ocie Stockard as well as Tommy's brother, bassist-vocalist Glynn Duncan.
Landing a recording contract with Capitol, he had a nationwide hit in 1949 with a remake of Jimmie Rodgers' Gambling Polka Dot Blues.
Even when Western Swing's popularity began declining in the Southwest, Tommy stayed in the game.
After disbanding the All-Stars in 1950 to work as a solo vocalist, Duncan continued to record backed by outstanding Western Swing musicians including members of Ole Rasmussen's Nebraska Cornhuskers and the popular Texas group the Miller Bros.
Tommy never quit performing, and except for a brief early '60s reunion with Bob Wills, he stayed active as a solo artist until his death of heart attack in 1967.
Texas Moon features the complete Capitol recordings, plus Duncan's one single released on his own Natural Records label, and his first two 1951 sessions for Intro Records.
Also on the package are both singles Glynn Duncan recorded with the Western All-Stars for Cormac Records 1in 1950, with Tommy playing bass.

More Information
Disc 1
  1. I'm Thru' Wastin' Time On You
  2. Take Me Back To Tulsa
  3. Worried Over You
  4. Time Changes Everything
  5. September
  6. Gamblin' Polka Dot Blues
  7. You Put Me On My Feet
  8. Just a Plain Old Country Boy
  9. In the Jailhouse Now
  10. Chattanooga Shoe Shine Boy
  11. I Don't Believe You're Mine
  12. Never No Mo' Blues
  13. Texas Moon
  14. Just a Little Bit Jealous
  15. We Got Good Business
  16. Please Come Back Home
  17. High Country
  18. All Star Boogie
  19. There's Not a Cow In Texas
  20. See Who's Sorry Now
  21. Sick Sober and Sorry
  22. Mississippi River Blues
  23. Wrong Road Home Blues
  24. Sweet Mama Hurry Home
  25. My Sweet Wildflower
  26. I'm Swing You