Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > This Time - The Best Of Troy Shondell CD

    Troy Shondell
    This Time - The Best Of Troy Shondell CD

    This CD release gathers the original recordings of Troy Shondell, including his classic hit This Time.
    Shondell wrote his first song at age 14, which was recorded by Little Anthony & The Imperials.
    His own music career started as a teenager, and Mercury Records released his first single My Hero which he recorded in 1958 under his real name, Gary Shelton.
    He followed the next year with rockabilly song Kissin' at the Drive-In.
    In 1959, Mark Records released the singles The Trance and Goodbye Little Darlin' which sold well in the Midwest and a few other areas, but neither made it into the Top 40 of the national record chart.
    In April 1961, he recorded "This Time" which was released on the tiny Gaye label and picked up by the Los Angeles Goldcrest label.
    It sold ten thousand copies during the first week.
    Six weeks after being released, Shondell flew to Los Angeles and signed with Liberty Records.
    This Time finally hit the Billboard charts the first week of September, peaking at number six and staying in the charts for a total of sixteen weeks.
    It also became a chart hit in the UK.


    • 1This Time
    • 2I Got A Woman
    • 3Gone
    • 4Na-Ne-No
    • 5The Glider
    • 6Girl After Girl
    • 7Just Because
    • 8Tears From An Angel
    • 9Island In The Sky
    • 10Some People Never Learn
    • 11I Don't Know
    • 12No Fool Like An Old Fool
    • 13Thinkin'
    • 14Little Miss Tease
    • 15Trouble

    More from Troy Shondell

    • Before This Time and After CD
      Troy Shondell
      Before This Time and After CD


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.