Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > Smiley Lewis Rocks CD

    Smiley Lewis Rocks CD

    The charts didn't reflect just how spectacular Smiley Lewis' 1950s output for Imperial Records was.  Under the savvy aegis of producer/songwriter Dave Bartholomew and featuring the Crescent City's top studio sidemen, Smiley made some of the most blistering rockers of his era.  Yet only a handful of them were national hits; his classic original I Hear You Knocking was victimized by a puerile Gale Storm cover that killed his pop crossover potential, and Elvis Presley latched onto One Night, cleaned it up, and sold a lot more copies than Smiley ever did.  

    This collection of Smiley Lewis's greatest rockers showcases his huge, wall-shaking voice (reminiscent of Big Joe Turner's on the bluesier early stuff) on a non-stop barrage of rockers ranging from 1950 to 1958.  Even Little Richard would be envious of some of these houserockers, with tenor saxman Lee Allen wailing and drummer Earl Palmer stoking the romping rhythm like a locomotive.

    This is the most comprehensive single-disc Smiley Lewis collection on the market.

    Play: Bumpity-Bump


    • 1Shame Shame Shame
    • 2Big Mamou
    • 3Ain't Gonna Do It
    • 4Down The Road
    • 5The Bells Are Ringing
    • 6Can't Stop Loving You
    • 7Ooh La La
    • 8My Baby Was Right
    • 9Blue Monday
    • 10Dirty People
    • 11Jailbird
    • 12Where Were You?
    • 13Real Gone Lover
    • 14Bumpity Bump
    • 15I Hear You Knocking
    • 16Sad Life
    • 17Come On
    • 18Bee's Boogie
    • 19Queen Of Hearts
    • 20Lillie Mae
    • 21One Night
    • 22Caldonia's Party
    • 23Nothing But The Blues
    • 24She's Got Me Hook Line and Sinker
    • 25Rootin' And Tootin'
    • 26Please Listen To Me
    • 27Down Yonder We Go Ballin'
    • 28No Letter Today
    • 29Mama Don't Like
    • 30Play Girl
    • 31Go On Fool
    • 32Goin' To Jump And Shout
    • 33Bad Luck Blues
    • 34School Days Are Back Again
    • 35Lil' Liza Jane
    • 36Shame Shame Shame.

    More from Smiley Lewis

    • I Hear You Knocking 4CD
      Smiley Lewis
      I Hear You Knocking 4CD
    • Down Yonder With Smiley Lewis CD
      Smiley Lewis
      Down Yonder With Smiley Lewis CD
    • Mama Don't Like It CD
      Smiley Lewis
      Mama Don't Like It CD
    • Rootin’ & Tootin’ 2CD
      Smiley Lewis
      Rootin’ & Tootin’ 2CD


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.