Bring Back Those Happy Days CD

Out of stock
Only 0 left

Sister Rosetta Tharpe
Bring Back Those Happy Days CD

28 tracks gathering Sister Rosetta Tharpe's Greatest Hits and selected recordings from 1938 to 1957.
Inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2018, Sister Rosetta Tharpe popularised gospel music to a new level during the 1930s and 1940s.
This essential overview of her career presents everything you would expect in religious fervour and meaningful lyrics, but because of her then unique style of guitar playing she had an appeal so great that it propelled her recordings into the emergent blues and R&B market.
Sister Rosetta Tharpe's guitar playing influenced the likes of Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis, Johnny Cash, Chuck Berry and Little Richard.
Includes Strange Things Happening Everyday which stormed to #2 on the Billboard 'Race' charts, one of the first gospel recordings to achieve that feat.
Other important tracks in this collection include Down By The Riverside which the American Library of Congress registered in 2004 for its direct influence on early Rhythm & Blues music, aldong with Rock Me, That's All, This Train, Shout Sister Shout!, Didn't It Rain and many others.

More Information
Disc 1
  1. Rock Me
  2. That's All
  3. This Train
  4. Bring Back Those Happy Days
  5. There Is Something Within Me
  6. Stand By Me
  7. Shout Sister Shout!
  8. I Want A Tall Skinny Papa
  9. Singing In My Soul
  10. I Claim Jesus First
  11. Strange Things Happening Everyday
  12. Two Little Fishes and Five Loaves Of Bread
  13. Jesus Is Here Today
  14. Jonah
  15. Didn't It Rain
  16. Stretch Out
  17. Up Above My Head I Hear Music In The Air
  18. My Journey To The Sky
  19. Down By The Riverside
  20. Sing and Shout
  21. Nobody's Fault But Mine
  22. Don't Leave Me Here To Cry
  23. What Have I Done?
  24. Don't You Weep O Mary Don't You Weep
  25. I've Done Wrong
  26. Ninety-Nine and a Half Won't Do
  27. Let's Be Happy