20 Days CD

In stock
STAGO072 4030433007226

Roy Thompson and The Mellow Kings
20 Days CD

Roy Thompson & The Mellow Kings is a Rockin' Rhythm & Blues six piece made up of experienced musicians from the Rockin' Scene who are all well versed in Roots, Blues and Rock 'n' Roll.
Based in Canada, in 2003 Thompson set up a band called Roy Thompson & His Royal Acadians (with tours in Canada, USA and Europe), and then in 2005 Roy decided to return to Europe where he founded The Mellow Kings in 2010.
Their influences range from Blues to Rhythm & Blues, from Swing to Rockin' 1950s and early 60s sounds.
Songs by artists such as Ike Turner, Ray Charles, T-Bone Walker, Larry Williams, Little Richard, Young Jessie,and Johnny Otis, feature in the Mellow Kings' live repertoire, as well as many self-penned tunes.
In 2012 they released their first album Back On Tracks.
Now it's time to present their brand new recordings on their superb new album.
The album title is 20 Days and it features tunes by Mike Pedicin, Little Richard, Bobby Bland, Aaron Neville, Otis Blackwell as well as a bunch of brand new original compositions.
In general the sound of the new album could be filed under New Breed - a kinda new genre that defines the music made between the late 1950s and early '60s rockin' Rhythm & Blues.
It is a solid rockin' record with lots of sizzlin' guitars, great piano work and a powerful sax.
A masterpiece! So go check it out.

More Information
Disc 1
  1. Oh What A Wonderful Time
  2. Burnt Toast and Black Coffee
  3. 20 Days
  4. Hoppin' Mad
  5. My Lovin' Kind
  6. Tighten Heart
  7. You Got Me
  8. Take Me Back
  9. I Love My Baby
  10. I Don't Wanna Leave
  11. For This I Thank You
  12. Cha Dooky Doo
  13. Kokomo Joe
  14. Roll Roll Roll
  15. The Midnite Creeper