Hip Shakin' Voodoo CD

In stock

Rocket To Memphis
Hip Shakin' Voodoo CD

Queen of the Voodoo Betty Bombshell and her stompin' quartet have cooked up a platter of knee-tremblin', soul-shakin' swampabilly for your hip-grinding pleasure...
Rocket To Memphis' first full-length CD certainly lives up to it's name!
With an eye-popping cover by Vince Ray, all 13 toons are stompin' and wickedly infectious - if you ain't shakin' all over after a dose of this, forget the witchdoctor - there ain't NO hope for ya!

Review from Sleazegrinder:
Showing there's power enough in many an old swamp to suck you down into come this quaking quartet from Perth, Australia. Pleasingly forgoing the apparently too easy to resist temptation of glib Stray Cats or Cramps going-overs or clattering through the already too cluttered closets of psychobilly while dressed in Lucky 13 clobber and sporting spider tattoos, Betty Bombhell and her rocketeers Death Rattle Dave, Razor Jack and Voodoo Viv tread an altogether more seductive path to lure you into their uncertain but marvelously murky depths of lizard slink. For starters they actually do creak out Creole mambas and tiki twirls, with Betty’s deceptively demure vocals and Jack’s crooked knee angular guitar suggestive of Marc Ribot’s work with Tom Waits on Rain Dogs helping them to stand out further by several strides, and when they both come to a head they increase the already impossibly sexy She's My Witch and No Kissin' At The Hop to near ridiculously chilling stakes of enticing wildness somewhere within. A sultry shimmery sway through fog-laden nights and sinister death-glam discos that stand as eerily inviting detours from the overflowing drive-ins of run of the mill rockabilly of little or no regard. (Stu Gibson)

More Information
Disc 1
  1. Bad Girl
  2. She's My Witch
  3. No Kissin' At The Hop
  4. Draggin' Dave
  5. Song Of The Swamp
  6. Gator Stomp
  7. Shake Your Hips
  8. Crazy Eyes
  9. Martians' Ball
  10. Sister
  11. Wolfman
  12. Little Red Rocket
  13. I Got Cramps