D.C. Rider - Washington Rhythm & Blues 1958-1962 CD

In stock
Only 1 left
JASMCD3271 604988327120

Phil Flowers
D.C. Rider - Washington Rhythm & Blues 1958-1962 CD

For over 30 years, from the Rock ‘n’ Roll era onwards, Phil Flowers was the backbone and the heartbeat of the Washington DC Rhythm & Blues scene.
He more than 30 singles, mostly on small labels, but occasionally on big labels too.
He also had over half a dozen album releases, the majority of which were released on budget labels and not sold in conventional record stores.
Although he came close a couple of times, not one of Phil’s 45s breached the R&B charts.
This is not in any way an indication of their quality, which was and is mostly very high.
Indeed, several are now in the highest demand among collectors of 1950s and early '60s black American music.
This collection provides an easy way to get almost all of Phil Flowers' early work in one place.
D C Rider contains just about every Flowers single from 1958 to 1962 inclusive.
Backing Phil on most of these tracks are two of DC’s most eminent R&B bands, led by two legendary R&B names in Thomas ‘TNT’ Tribble and Frank Motley.
Phil’s formidable body of early work has been long overdue such a retrospective.

More Information
Disc 1
  1. Honey Chile
  2. What It Means To Be Blue
  3. I’m A Lover Man
  4. You Stole My Heart
  5. Rosa-Lee
  6. No Kissin' At The Hop
  7. Walking At Night
  8. Lose
  9. Sadie From Haiti
  10. Ham ‘n’ Eggs
  11. Devil Blues
  12. Bingo
  13. What Did I Do?
  14. No More Tossin’ And Turnin’
  15. The Dances
  16. C C Rider
  17. Move On
  18. Whole Lotta Woman
  19. Twistin’ Beat
  20. I Need You Baby
  21. You Shouldn’t Do Me Like You Do
  22. Let Me Come Home
  23. Crazy Baby
  24. Think It Over
  25. Little Devil