She's Real Gone CD

In stock
Only 1 left
604988327021 JASMCD3270

Nellie Lutcher
She's Real Gone CD

A true US Rhythm & Blues pioneer, Nellie Lutcher's irrepressibly upbeat style and her feel-good Capitol releases made her immensely popular in the UK for a few years, as the 1940s turned over to the 1950s.
She was the first full-on R&B act to tour here in the early 1950s - twice! - and there's no doubt that she would have been a consistent UK chart act, had there actually been UK charts at the time.
Enthusiastic promotion on his pioneering BBC record programme by DJ Jack Jackson made Nellie an immediate and huge public favourite with airplay hits like Hurry On Down and He's A Real Gone Guy.
Both are featured here along with a representative selection of other popular Lutcher favourites, and a number of sides that did not get a British release at the time - some of which are receiving their UK debut on this womderful 30 track collection.

More Information
Disc 1
  1. Hurry On Down
  2. He's A Real Gone Guy
  3. You Better Watch Yourself Bub
  4. Do You Or Don't You Love Me
  5. Fine Brown Frame
  6. Wish I Was In Walla Walla
  7. Alexander's Ragtime Band
  8. Come and Get It Honey
  9. There's Another Mule In Your Stall
  10. Cool Water
  11. Princess Poo-Pooly Has Plenty Papaya
  12. He Sends Me
  13. That'll Just About Knock Me Out
  14. That's A Plenty
  15. Ditto From Me To You
  16. For You My Love
  17. Pa's Not Home Ma's Upstairs
  18. The One I Love Belongs To Somebody Else
  19. Kinda Blue and Low
  20. Lake Charles Boogie
  21. Imagine You Having Eyes For Me
  22. A Chicken Ain't Nothing But A Bird
  23. My New Papa's Got To Have Everything
  24. Baby Please Stop and Think About Me
  25. Can I Come In For A Second
  26. Mean To Me
  27. Let The Worry Bird Worry For You
  28. The Birth Of The Blues
  29. The Heart Of A Clown
  30. Keepin' Out Of Mischief Now