Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > Juke Joint Johnny CD

    Red Sovine
    Juke Joint Johnny CD

    Juke Joint Johnny is the first comprehensive summary of the early recordings of Red Sovine with the emphasis on his faster Honky Tonk, Hillbilly Boogie and Rockabilly-style recordings.
    This collection is loaded with rarities that have been unavailable for many years - since their original publication in the 1950s.
    The accompanying booklet includes a detailed career biography.
    Early success came for Red Sovine when he joined the Louisiana Hayride in place of Hank Williams.
    He later followed Williams to Nashville, the Grand Ole Opry and MGM Records.
    This link summarizes his best early titles for MGM and Decca - fast honky tonk, hillbilly boogie and rockabilly-like songs.
    Together with his early rockabilly classics, You're Barking Up The Wrong Tree Now is of particular interest, as it is a composition by Hank Williams and Fred Rose.
    Here are 31 great songs, prime Hillbilly and Rockabilly music dating from 1949 to 1961, mostly never reissued on CD before, making this collection a revelation for vintage Country and Rockabilly fans.


    • 1Okey Dokey
    • 2When I Get Rich
    • 3Sundown Sue
    • 4You're Barking Up The Wrong Tree Now
    • 5I'm Gonna Lock My Heart
    • 6The Intoxicated Rat
    • 7I'll Worry You Out Of My Mind
    • 8Billy Goat Boogie
    • 9Don't Worry
    • 10Till Today
    • 11It'd Surprise You
    • 12Farewell So Long Goodbye
    • 13Sixteen Tons
    • 14Juke Joint Johnny
    • 15I Hope You Do not Care
    • 16My Little Rat
    • 17No Thanks Bartender
    • 18You're Calling Me Sweetheart
    • 19Why Baby Why
    • 20Wild Beating Heart
    • 21You Used To Be My Baby
    • 22Don't Drop It
    • 23How Do You Think I Feel
    • 24Down On The Corner Of Love
    • 25Poor Man's Riches
    • 26Are You Mine?
    • 27Courtin' Time In Tennessee
    • 28Hold Everything Till I Get Home
    • 29Ko Ko Mo I Love You So
    • 30Four Arms
    • 31The Cajun Queen.


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.