Special Delivery Man CD

In stock
Only 1 left

Forest City Joe
Special Delivery Man - Harmonica Blues of Forest City Joe CD

Raw, exciting Juke Joint Blues at their finest!
Forest City Joe was born Joe Bennie Pugh in Hughes, Arkansas close to the town of Forrest City from which he took his name.
He taught himself harmonica and played locally impersonating his idol John Lee 'Sonny Boy' Williamson.
Rambling around the south with Big Joe Williams, he eventually ended up in Chicago where he signed for Aristocrat Records.
Only one 78 was released from this session and sales were not sufficient for a follow up session.
He eventually returned to Hughes, performing music in the evening until he was rediscovered in August 1959 by Alan Lomax on one of his field trips.
After an evening session at the Old Whiskey Store, Atlantic issued two LPs - Roots of the Blues and Blues Roll On - introducing Joe to a wider audience which would have been his comeback had an automobile accident not ended his life.
This CD presents the Chess session including those tracks which were not issued at the time.
They appeared all together on an album in 1984, odd tracks being issued in the meantime.
All Joe's titles from both Atlantic LPs are included, as is You Gotta Cut That Out which Lomax thought too modern for the two LPs.
Added to these are the two Boy Blue titles issued by Atlantic that were recorded at the same session, plus two Little Son Joe tracks recorded for J.O.B. but not issued at the time.

More Information
Disc 1
  1. Memory Of Sonny Boy
  2. Special Delivery Man
  3. Shady Lane Woman
  4. A Woman On Every Street
  5. Sawdust Bottom
  6. Ash Street Boogie
  7. Mean Mistreatin' Woman
  8. Lonesome Day Blues
  9. Levee Camp Reminiscence
  10. Train Time
  11. Drink On Little Girl
  12. She Lived Her Life Too Fast
  13. She Don't Love Me That Way
  14. Stop Breaking Down
  15. Red Cross Store
  16. Forest City Jump
  17. You Gotta Cut That Out
  18. Boogie Children
  19. Joe Lee's Rock
  20. Ethel Bea
  21. A Little Too Late