Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > Groovin' The Blues CD

    Groovin' The Blues CD

    Watching the success of indie labels like Atlantic, Chess, Specialty, Imperial and others, in 1954 industry giant RCA decided to re-enter the Rhythm & Blues field with the Groove label.
    The experiment ended in 1957 after notching up just one major hit, Mickey & Sylvia's Love Is Strange.
    Lack of hits didn't mean lack of great music.
    Groove Records drew on a wide range of artists from top-drawer vocal groups like the Du Droppers and blues guitar star Roy Gaines, and New Orleans barrelhouse pianist Champion Jack Dupree.
    The bands were always top-notch, including session genius Mickey Baker as well as Paul Williams and Buddy Lucas.
    These excellent recordings are drawn from the masters, restored to pristine sound.
    The accompanying booklet includes detailed liner notes and rare unpublished photos.


    • 1Lost Jawbone - Sonny Terry
    • 2Goin’ Back Home - Cousin Leroy
    • 3The Ups - Champion Jack Dupree
    • 4No Dice - Buddy Lucas
    • 5Hold Me Baby - Sue Allen & Oscar Black
    • 6Louise - Sonny Terry
    • 7Love Blues - Clayton Love
    • 8There Goes That Train - Maymie Watts
    • 9‘Taint Right - Big Tiny Kennedy
    • 10Don’t Leave Me - Little Tommy Brown
    • 1141 Highway - Cousin Leroy
    • 12Tell Me Baby - Sonny Terry
    • 13I Got Drunk - Buddy Lucas
    • 14Romance In The Dark - Zilla Mays
    • 15I Need A Good Woman - Big Tiny Kennedy
    • 16What Makes Me Love You So - Oscar Black
    • 17Hootin’ Blues No.2 - Sonny Terry
    • 18You’ve Been Good To Everybody - The Du Droppers
    • 19Catfish - Cousin Leroy
    • 20Beantown Boogie - Bertice Reading
    • 21Lonesome Bedroom - Cousin Leroy
    • 22Lonely Road Blues - Champion Jack Dupree
    • 23Throw This Old Dog A Bone - Sonny Terry
    • 24I Need Help - Buddy Lucas
    • 25I Took You In Baby - Sonny Terry
    • 26Won’t You Forgive Me - Little Tommy Brown
    • 27Story Of My Life - Champion Jack Dupree
    • 28I Wash My Hands - Bertice Reading
    • 29I’ll Live My Life Alone - Oscar Black & Sue Allen
    • 30Juice Head Woman - Sonny Terry
    • 31Sentimental Blues - Sonny Brooks
    • 32Into Each Heart Some Tears Must Fall - Oscar Black
    • 33Wait Till Next Week Baby - Big Connie

    More from Various Rhythm & Blues

    • Sun Blues
      Various Rhythm & Blues
      Sun Blues
    • Aristocrat Blues Story 2CD
      Various Rhythm & Blues
      Aristocrat Blues Story 2CD
    • Excello Blues Story 2CD
      Various Rhythm & Blues
      Excello Blues Story 2CD
    • Let The Good Times Roll 2CD
      Various Rhythm & Blues
      Let The Good Times Roll 2CD
    • Got Blues If You Want It 2CD
      Various Rhythm & Blues
      Got Blues If You Want It 2CD


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.