Gospel Train - The Marie Knight Story CD

In stock
Only 1 left
604988322521 JASMCD3225

Marie Knight
Gospel Train - The Marie Knight Story CD

This collection traces Marie Knight's musical journey through 1940s Gospel and 1950s Rhythm & Blues across ten different record labels.
Knight started out as a Gospel singer in the early 1940s, recording with several renowned groups, before teaming up with the mighty Sister Rosetta Tharpe with whom she worked extensively until the mid-'50s.
Their body of work together included releases like Precious Memories, Up Above My Head and My Journey To The Sky which are among Tharpe's highest acclaimed recordings.
Under her own steam she cut sides like Gospel Train (which made the R&B Top 10), I Just Can't Keep From Cryin'Tell Me Why, Grasshopper Baby and Look At Me.
Her outstanding R&B cuts include the wild I Thought I Told You Not To Tell Them, I Can't Sit Down (a duet with Rex Garvin), Come Tomorrow and Come On Baby Hold My Hand.

More Information
Disc 1
  1. I'll Let Nothin' Separate Me From The Lord
  2. Precious Memories
  3. Up Above My Head
  4. My Journey To The Sky
  5. Gospel Train
  6. Satisfied with Jesus
  7. I Just Can't Keep From Cryin'
  8. This Old Soul Of Mine
  9. Sing and Shout
  10. Trouble In Mind
  11. Stand The Storm
  12. Who Rolled The Stone Away
  13. Tell Me Why
  14. As Long As I Love
  15. Blessed Be The Name Of The Lord
  16. Stand By Me
  17. Grasshopper Baby
  18. Look At Me
  19. I'm The Little Fooler
  20. I Thought I Told You Not To Tell Them
  21. September Song
  22. I Can't Sit Down
  23. Miracles
  24. Hope You Won't Hold It Against Me
  25. To Be Loved By You
  26. Come Tomorrow
  27. Nothing In The World
  28. Come On Baby (Hold My Hand)
  29. What Kind Of A Fool Do You Think I Am?
  30. I Was Born Again
  31. I Don't Wanna Walk Alone