Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > Ruby Baby + Donna The Prima Donna CD

    Dion DiMucci
    Ruby Baby + Donna The Prima Donna CD

    Dion’s two 1963 original Columbia albums together on CD.
    Having parted company with the Belmonts in 1960, Dion DiMucci enjoyed a string of solo hits on Laurie Records, including the million-selling Runaround Sue, and two Top 20 albums before signing to Columbia Records in late ’62.
    By now a major star and with an uncompromising take on his own style – “I don’t sing white, I don’t sing black, I sing Bronx”, Dion’s arrival at the label heralded a significant sea change; A&R director Mitch Miller’s dislike of rock’n’roll was no secret while Dion himself was eager to break away from the “teen idol” tag.
    His first Columbia single, a bluesy cover of Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller’s Ruby Baby, peaked at US #2 and spawned the first of two LPs released in 1963.
    Released in March ’63, “Ruby Baby” became his third Top 20 album.
    By contrast its follow-up, Donna The Prima Donna, fared less well – yet was more allied to Dion’s tastes.
    Capitalising on the recent doo wop revival, alongside the self-penned title hit (US #6), the album included two Cleftones cover songs, Goffin & King’s overlooked This Little Girl (US #21) and a cover of Be Careful Of Stones That You Throw (US #31) which Dion had heard as a youngster by way of Hank Williams.
    Presented in glorious stereo, Ruby Baby and Donna The Prima Donna make their CD debut here as a memorabilia-laden package includes informative liner and a detailed sessionography.


    • 1Ruby Baby
    • 2The End Of The World
    • 3Go Away Little Girl
    • 4Gonna Make It Alone
    • 5Fever
    • 6My Mammy
    • 7Will Love Ever Come My Way?
    • 8Loneliest Man In The World
    • 9You Made Me Love You
    • 10He’ll Only Hurt You
    • 11You’re Nobody ’til Somebody Loves You
    • 12Unloved Unwanted Me
    • 13Donna The Prima Donna
    • 14Can’t We Be Sweethearts?
    • 15Sweet Sweet Baby
    • 16This Little Girl Of Mine
    • 17Flim Flam
    • 18Troubled Mind
    • 19This Little Girl
    • 20Oh Happy Days
    • 21You’re Mine
    • 22Donna
    • 23I Can’t Believe That You Don’t Love Me Anymore
    • 24Be Careful Of Stones That You Throw

    More from Dion

    • Lovers Who Wander CD
      Lovers Who Wander CD
    • For Always 2-CD
      For Always 2-CD
    • Recorded Live At The Bitter End CD
      Recorded Live At The Bitter End CD
    • Runaraound Sue - Best Of The Rest CD
      Runaraound Sue - Best Of The Rest CD
    • Heroes CD + DVD
      Heroes CD + DVD


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.