Rock 'n' Roll - Rockabilly - Psychobilly chart May 2019

1 : Stray Cats : 40
40 years since they formed in 1979 and 26 years since their last studio album (1993's Original Cool), The Stray Cats are back with a brand new release.
2 : Hillbilly Moon Explosion : The Sparky Sessions
A complete album of duets with Hillbilly Moon Explosion and Mark ‘Sparky’ Phillips of Demented Are Go.
3: Big Six : Don't Stop... Rock!
25 track "Best Of" CD from the all-star Rock 'n' Roll featuring members of The Stargazers, Big Town Playboys and Sugar Ray Ford & The Hot Shots. 
4: Lee Rocker : The Low Road
Double CD/DVD set with the original Stray Cat and his band rockin' through a storming set of the most important songs of his 40 year career.
5: Hillbilly Moon Explosion : All Grown Up
Limited Edition re-release of the 2006 album recorded in San Diego, USA and featuring guitar ace Eddie Angel.
6: Kim Lenz : Slowly Speeding
American roots music icon Kim Lenz returns with her fifth album - a culmination of some two decades of honing her songwriting and performing craft.
7: Billy Crash Craddock : Boom Boom Billy
29 track collection anthologizing his early Rock 'n' Roll career from 1957 to 1961, featuring his original 45s amd collectors' rarities.
8: Clint Bradley : Soul Of The West
Solo album from the Blue Cats frontman consists entirely of his own songs influenced by his passion for Western music.
9: The Retrobaits : All Systems Go
UK trio The Retrobaits successfully mix many styles of vintage rock 'n' roll, their originality and diversity setting them one step ahead of the pack.
10: John Lewis : Where Would Rock 'n' Roll Be?
After 33 years pure rockin', this new album captures the true rockin' spirit of John Lewis with 13 tracks of top quality rockin' music - John Lewis style!
11: Screamin' Rebel Angels : Heel Grinder
Fast, loud, full throttle rock 'n' roll attack - but then it also purrs and whispers thoughts you’ve never dared think. Unrelenting, high-energy & incendiary.
12: Troy Shondell : Before This Time and After
21 tracks gathering his recordings on the Mercury, Liberty and Everest labels as well as those made between 1957 & 1960 under his real name Gary Shelton.
13: Jack Rabbit Slim - Live At The Hoochie Coochie Club
One of the most popular rockabilly bands of recent years with a great live performance captured with excellent sound quality.
14: Johnny Kidd & The Pirates : Quivers Down The Backbone
33 tracks from one of Britain's greatest rockers including the A&B sides of their singles from 1959 to 1962, plus a whole bunch of collectors' rarities.
15: Danny & The Juniors : Back At The Hop
Unfairly regarded one hit wonder, this 32 track collection includes all nine of their Hot 100 chart entries between 1957 and 1962.
16: Ronnie Self : Ain't I'm A Dog
One of the true 1950s rockabilly greats, this collection of his greatest recordings will generate a fresh wave of admiration for these stellar rockin' sides.
17: Rebel Dean : Rock 'n' Roll Heart
New album with lots of originals from one of the stars of the Rock 'n' Roll scene, Rebel Dene and his Star Cats - featuring PJ Proby.
18: Jets : 40 Rockin' Years
Unreleased gems and rarities from 1979 through to 2019 by one of the most successful rockin' rockabilly bands to come out of the UK.
19: Moon Mullican : I Done It
26 tracks focusing entirely on his uptempo recordings dating from 1949 to 1958, including the tracks he made with Boyd Bennett and his Rockets.
20: Tommy Sands : Sands Storm
CD release kicking off with the whole of his 1959 LP Sands Storm! followed by 16 singles including many of his hits recorded between 1957 and 1960.
21: Scatman Crothers : Rock 'n' Roll With Scat Man
The whole of his 1956 LP 17 bonus tracks! The most indepth overview of his singing career with several recordings never previously on CD.
22: Marvin Rainwater : Essential Recordings
Double disc set with 40 original recordings from the multi-talented Rockabilly Country singer who scored a string of hits in the late 1950s.
23: Million Dollar Tones : That's Right
7 piece band combining rockin' rhythm 'n' blues and 1950s black rock 'n' roll with New Orleans flavour into a gorgeous package.
24: Delta 88 : Firefly
Primitive '50's rockin' beats fused with a more contemporary edge to create an catchy and danceable rockabilly style.
25: Andy Starr : Rockin' Rollin' Stone
22 tracks - finest '50s rockabilly including "Rockin' Rollin' Stone", "She's A Going Jessie", "Dig Them Squeaky Shoes", "Give Me A Woman" etc

40 years since they first formed in 1979 - and 26 years since their last studio album (1993's Original Cool), The Stray Cats are back with a brand new release.
Brian Setzer, Slim Jim Phantom and Lee Rocker mark 40 years of Stray Cats' Rockabilly with Cat Class and Cat Style with their new album studio album - simply titled 40. The Stray Cats will be touring through Europe in June and July to coincide with this landmark release, with UK dates at Birmingham O2 Acedemy (23rd June), Manchester O2 Apollo (25th June) and London Eventim Apollo (26th/27th June).
"Don't Stop... ROCK!" is the very best of The Big Six - a 25 track CD release which delivers 80 minutes of fantastic rockin' music. The Big Six is an all-star Rock 'n' Roll group conceived by Ricky Lee Brawn comprising musicians who had become well-known in other bands. Ricky and Anders Janes were both in The Stargazers in the early 1980s, Mike Sanchez was the front-man of the Big Town Playboys, Pat Reyford was the front-man of Sugar Ray Ford and the Hotshots and Al Nicholls and Nick Lunt were highly respected saxophone players on the rock 'n' roll, rhythm & blues and swing scenes. They released three albums between 1995 and 1999 - "Ready To Rock", "We The Boys Will Rock Ya" and "Get Off It and Rock It", which are all long deleted and difficult to find - so this collection is a welcome release which makes their finest moments available again.
Texas-born Moon Mullican started out singing and playing Western Swing and finished his career singing and playing unadulterated Honky Tonk Country.
In between he recorded everything from Hillbilly to highly convincing R&B and Rock 'n' Roll, always making room for the kind of music that kept dance floors full throughout the American south. He was known as the "King of the Hillbilly Piano Players" but in a career that spanned thirty years and four decades, there really were not too many types of music that Moon Mullican couldn't and didn't play with style and swagger.
"I Done It" is a 26 track collection which focuses entirely on Moon Mullican's uptempo recordings dating from 1949 to 1958.
All of his popular fast tunes are present, from his big hit "I'll Sail My Ship Alone" to his original version of "Jambalaya" to the classic Rock 'n' Roll tracks he made with Boyd Bennett and his Rockets as accompanists, including the original of the peerless "Seven Nights To Rock", along with "Rock 'n' Roll Mr. Bullfrog", "Honolulu Rock-A Roll-A" and "I'm Mad With You".