Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > Birth Of Surf Vol 1 CD

    The Birth Of Surf Volume 1 CD

    Compiled by Pipeline Magazine, The Birth Of Surf traces the evolution of instrumental Surf music from its Rock 'n' Roll roots through to the minor classics and big surf hits of its peak year in 1963.  It includes rockin' contributions from influential guitar stars Duane Eddy, Link Wray, The Ventures and The Fireballs, early Surf from Californian group The Tornadoes, the pivotal and defining blast of Dick Dale's Miserlou, the big surf hits Pipeline, Wipe Out, Baja and Penetration, and the cream of the self-released recordings from the myriad of young Surf groups that sprung up in their wake.
    The Birth Of Surf is the strongest single CD compilation of instrumental surf music ever assembled.  Every track is a killer, capable of heading up an album of its own.
    As a result it's an exciting listen as well as an essential purchase for the casual buyer and collector alike.

    Featured artists:  Duane Eddy - Johnny and The Hurricanes - The Fireballs - The Gamblers - The Ventures - The Belairs - Link Wray - The Sentinals - The Tornadoes - The Surfmen - Dick Dale - The Chantays - The Surfaris - The Lively Ones - The Original Surfaris - The Illusions - The Astronauts - Aki Aleong - The Blazers - Eddie and The Showmen - The Crossfires - The Avantis - The Chevells - The Chandelles - The Pyramids - Bob Hafner.


    • 1Ramrod - DUANE EDDY
    • 3Bulldog - THE FIREBALLS
    • 4Moon Dawg - THE GAMBLERS
    • 5Lullaby Of The Leaves - THE VENTURES
    • 6Mr Moto - THE BELAIRS
    • 7Jack The Ripper - LINK WRAY
    • 8Latin'ia - THE SENTINALS
    • 9Bustin' Surfboards - THE TORNADOES
    • 10El Toro - THE SURFMEN
    • 11Miserlou - DICK DALE
    • 12Pipeline - THE CHANTAYS
    • 13Wipe Out - THE SURFARIS
    • 14Surf Rider - THE LIVELY ONES
    • 15Latin Soul - THE ORIGINAL SURFARIS
    • 16Jezabel - THE ILLUSIONS
    • 17Baja - THE ASTRONAUTS
    • 18Earthquake - AKI ALEONG
    • 19Beaver Patrol - THE BLAZERS
    • 20Squad Car - EDDIE AND THE SHOWMEN
    • 21Fiberglass Jungle - THE CROSSFIRES
    • 22Gypsy Surfer - THE AVANTIS
    • 23Let There Be Surf - THE CHEVELLS
    • 24El Gato - THE CHANDELLES
    • 25Penetration - THE PYRAMIDS
    • 26Surf Creature - BOB HAFNER

    More from Various Surf Instrumental

    • The Missing Chord CD
      Various Surf Instrumental
      The Missing Chord CD
    • Surf - Absolutely Essential Collection 3CD
      Various Surf Instrumental
      Surf - Absolutely Essential Collection 3CD
    • Surf's Comin' 3-CD
      Various Surf Instrumental
      Surf's Comin' 3-CD
    • Travel Sickness Pills CD
      Various Surf Instrumental
      Travel Sickness Pills CD
    • Instro Poker Of Aces 7
      Various Surf Instrumental
      Instro Poker Of Aces 7" EP (vinyl)


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.