Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > Savoy Years Album Collection 2CD

    Big Maybelle
    Savoy Years The Album Collection 2CD

    Little is really known of Mabel Louise Smith aka Big Maybelle.
    As with so many pioneers of R&B she was never interviewed in her lifetime and passed away in 1972 just as historians of popular culture were finally getting interested in the architects of R&B.
    This double disc set gives a new approach to her recorded work, beginning with two rare live radio broadcasts for Alan Freed along with her original LPs for the Savoy and Cub labels presented together for the first time.
    Also included is her only Christmas 45 along with all of her legendary performance at the Newport Jazz Festival in 1958.
    Accompanying booklet Includes fully detailed liner notes.


    • 1Ring Dang Dilly
    • 2Candy
    • 3All Of Me
    • 4Stay As Sweet As You Are
    • 5Baby Won't You Please Come Home
    • 6Say It Isn't So
    • 7Rock House
    • 8If I Could Be With You
    • 9Jim
    • 10It's A Sin To Tell A Lie
    • 11I Could Make You Care
    • 12I Don't Want To Cry
    • 13Pitiful
    • 14There, I've Said It Again
    • 15Candy
    • 16So Long
    • 17Ramblin' Blues
    • 18Blues Early Early (parts 1 & 2)
    • 19Ring Dang Dilly
    • 20That's A Pretty Good Love
    • 21Mean To Me
    • 22Tell Me Who
    • 23Silent Night
    • 24White Christmas
    • 1Beale Street Blues
    • 2Careless Love
    • 3St Louis Blues
    • 4Memphis Blues
    • 5Joe Turner Blues
    • 6Yellow Dog Blues
    • 7The Basement Blues
    • 8The Hesitating Blues
    • 9Ole Miss Blues
    • 10Friendless Blues
    • 11Way Down South Where The Blues Began
    • 12Harlem Blues
    • 13Let's Roll It
    • 14Cherry
    • 15One Hour
    • 16Baby Please Don't Go
    • 17The Blues
    • 18Going Home Baby
    • 19A Good Man Is Hard To Find
    • 20I Ain't Got Nobody
    • 21I Understand
    • 22I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good
    • 23Some Of These Days
    • 24Until The Real Thing Comes Along

    More from Big Maybelle

    • Complete King Okeh & Savoy Releases 2CD
      Big Maybelle
      Complete King Okeh & Savoy Releases 2CD


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.