Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > Dangerous! Rare & Unreleased CD

    Dangerous! Rare and Unreleased 1977-'84 CD

    One of the first significant bands to emerge from the British rockabilly revival, Whirlwind was a potent live attraction in the UK and helped establish a tenuous but important link between the Roots Rock community and the growing punk rock underground.
    Whirlwind was formed in 1976 by singer Nigel Dixon and drummer Phil Hardy, both being fans of first-era Rock 'n' Roll.
    They joined forces with Mick Lewis on guitar and Chris Emo on bass and stormed the London club circuit.
    After a successful residency at legendary club The Speakeasy, Whirlwind became a hot attraction in London and earned many fans on the burgeoning punk/new wave scene by opening for the likes of the Clash, Elvis Costello & the Attractions and Ian Dury & the Blockheads.
    Chiswick Records, home to such proto-punk notables as the Count Bishops, the Gorillas and Johnny Moped, signed Whirlwind in 1977, and after a pair of singles issued the group's debut album Blowing Up A Storm in January 1978.
    The group embarked on major U.K. road trip opening for Blondie, but by the end of the tour the band had called it a day before the second album Midnight Blue was even released.
    Nigel Dixon's post Whirlwind career included solo released, but most notably he formed HAVANA 3AM with Paul Simonon of The Clash.
    Nigel Dixon lost his life to cancer in 1993; the disease also claimed Phil Hardy the same year.
    A CD anthology of Whirlwind's Chiswick material In the Studio was released in 1995.
    Dangerous is a collection of previously unissued Whirlwind recordings from 1977 to 1984.


    • 1I Thought It Over
    • 2Crash The Party
    • 3Shotgun Wedding
    • 4Someone's On The Loose
    • 5Keep Away
    • 6Gang Wars
    • 7'Til The Following Night
    • 8It Must Be Love
    • 9Wondrous Place
    • 10Jet Black Machine
    • 11Baby Let's Play House
    • 12Rock Around With Ollie Vee
    • 13Wipeout
    • 14Barking Up The Wrong Tree
    • 15Down On The Farm
    • 16Cool Girls

    More from Whirlwind

    • Blowing Up A Storm CD
      Blowing Up A Storm CD
    • Back Into The Storm CD
      Back Into The Storm CD


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.