Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > Vernons Girls CD

    The Vernons Girls CD

    The Vernons Girls were originally formed as part of the social activities of the Liverpool-based Vernon's Football Pools company.
    The company saw it as a unique form of promotion and initially sponsored the project.
    At first, the singers were drawn exclusively from the staff of young women who checked the public's pools coupons.
    Demand for the girls to give public performances grew far beyond expectation, and women would seek employment with Vernons simply as a means of breaking into show business.
    The Vernon Girls appeared on the ITV show Oh Boy! between 1958 and 1959, and released a series of relatively successful singles for labels Parlophone between 1958 and 1961.
    Led by Maureen Kennedy, from 1961 the group reduced their membership to five and then to three members, and by 1962 they had signed to Decca Records with four of their singles reaching the national chart.
    As session singers for Decca, the Vernons Girls were the female backing voices on many hit singles during the 1960s – one of the first being Billy Fury's Maybe Tomorrow - and they also appeared in the Billy Fury film Play It Cool.


    • 1White Bucks and Saddle Shoes
    • 2Lost and Found
    • 3Ten Little Lonely Boys
    • 4Anniversary Song
    • 5The Song Is You
    • 6Rain On The Roof
    • 7I've Told Every Little Star
    • 8Over The Rainbow
    • 9Come Dance With Me
    • 10We'll Gather Lilacs
    • 11Sing For Your Supper
    • 12Lonely Ballerina
    • 13The Cuckoo In The Clock
    • 14The Boy Next Door
    • 15Dancing On The Ceiling
    • 16Song Of Songs
    • 17Wyatt Erp
    • 18High Wind
    • 19Never On Sunday
    • 20Swain Kelly
    • 21Demon Lover
    • 22Like Love
    • 23The Angel and The Stranger
    • 24Xmas Stocking
    • 25The Sweet Life
    • 26When Is Someday?
    • 27African Waltz
    • 28Moanin'
    • 29I Sold My Heart To The Junk Man
    • 30Step Up and Rescue Me
    • 31Adios My Love

    More from Vernons Girls

    • We Love The Vernons Girls CD
      Vernons Girls
      We Love The Vernons Girls CD


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.