Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > Rockin' The Groove CD

    Rockin' The Groove CD

    Watching the success of indie labels like Atlantic, Chess, Specialty, Imperial and others, in 1954 industry giant RCA decided to re-enter the Rhythm & Blues field with the Groove label.
    The experiment ended in 1957 after notching up just one major hit, Mickey & Sylvia's Love Is Strange.
    Lack of hits didn't mean lack of great music.
    Groove Records drew on a wide range of artists from top-drawer vocal groups like the Du Droppers and blues guitar star Roy Gaines, and New Orleans barrelhouse pianist Champion Jack Dupree.
    The bands were always top-notch, including session genius Mickey Baker as well as Paul Williams and Buddy Lucas.
    These excellent recordings are drawn from the masters, restored to pristine sound.
    The accompanying booklet includes detailed liner notes and rare unpublished photos.


    • 1Charmaine - Frankie Brunson
    • 2Mattie Bee - Emmett Hobson
    • 3Right Now - Zilla Mays
    • 4Big Foot Mammy - Paul Williams
    • 5Hoodoo - Roy Gaines
    • 6Shout Holler and Scream - George Benson
    • 7Blackboard Rock - Beverly Wright
    • 8Bye Bye Baby - Clayton Love
    • 9Champ Ale - Sonny Brooks
    • 10The Last Laugh Will Be On You - Johnny Bird
    • 11Run Along - Lil McKenzie
    • 12I’m Trapped - Buddy Lucas
    • 13She’s Mine - Big Connie
    • 14Break It Up - Chris Powell & The Blue Flames
    • 15Quicksand - Maymie Watts
    • 16My Head Goes Around - Oscar Black
    • 17Good-Bye Little Girl - Chris Powell & the Blue Flames
    • 18The Thrill Is Gone - Little Tommy Brown
    • 19Grab That Thing and Run - Sam Highpockets Henderson
    • 20I Gotta Know - Bertice Reading
    • 2122 Minutes - Lillian Childs
    • 22That’s All I Need - The Du Droppers
    • 23Doo Ba Dee - Maymie Watts
    • 24Where Is Joe? - Emmett Hobson
    • 25Shake Till I’m Shook - Beverly Wright
    • 26I Believe In You - Frank Brunson
    • 27Love Ya Like Crazy - Chris Powell
    • 28Alabama Sue - Roy Gaines
    • 29Oh! Sweetness - The Avalons
    • 30Since You Went Away - Zilla Mays
    • 31Crime Doesn’t Pay - The Coronets
    • 32Women Are The Root Of All Evil - Paul Williams
    • 33A Little Boy’s Dream - George Benson
    • 34Humpty Dumpty - Paul Williams
    • 35Wheel Of Time - Maymie Watts

    More from Various Rhythm & Blues

    • Sun Blues
      Various Rhythm & Blues
      Sun Blues
    • Aristocrat Blues Story 2CD
      Various Rhythm & Blues
      Aristocrat Blues Story 2CD
    • Excello Blues Story 2CD
      Various Rhythm & Blues
      Excello Blues Story 2CD
    • Let The Good Times Roll 2CD
      Various Rhythm & Blues
      Let The Good Times Roll 2CD
    • Got Blues If You Want It 2CD
      Various Rhythm & Blues
      Got Blues If You Want It 2CD


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.