Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > Deadly Combination CD

    Las Pistolas
    Deadly Combination CD

    Las Pistolas deliver a solid follow-up to their debut mini-album The Legend Begins with a fantastic full-length release.

    Las Pistolas are a modern rockabilly trio, and though they already had a CD EP out, Deadly Combination is their first full length featuring 13 originals and only two covers.
    The opening track, a My Baby Left Me/That’s Allright type of rockabilly, didn’t impress me much: good but not very original. Things got drastically better with I’ve Got Rhythm In My Soul, a hot boppin’ Neo-Rockabilly number. The rest of the songs confirmed that the first song was just an exception.
    The main core of their music is rockabilly with a modern twist and melodies, but you will also find a Western tinged ballad (Cinnamon Kid) and some wild numbers with saxophone (She’ll Rock Your World and the excellent Jessica Rabbit that features a honkin’ Las Vegas solo at the end).
    Liquor and Las Pistolas is a Diddley beat blues with harmonica, tambourine, maracas, distortion on the voice and slide guitar. If you like Wild Billy Childish this one is for you (I only regret they don’t do more in that style).
    Like any decent rock’n’roll record Deadly Combination features a nice ballad. This one is called Lost It All and features Alan Wilson on piano. The playing is great, the solos are inventive and the recording as usual with Western Star is top notch. Strongly recommended.
    Review by Fred Turgis (www.jumpingfrom6to6.com)


    • 1Pistol Packin' Peggy Sue
    • 2Rhythm In My Soul
    • 3The Cinnamon Kid
    • 4She'll Rock Your World
    • 5Jump Start
    • 6Rock Around With Ollie Vee
    • 7Jessica Rabbit
    • 8Liquor and Las Pistolas
    • 9Don't Shut Me Out
    • 10The Return of Eddie Sin
    • 11Lost It All
    • 12Sunday Lover
    • 13Black Widow
    • 14Lady Luck
    • 15Sad But True

    More from Las Pistolas

    • Legend Begins CD
      Las Pistolas
      Legend Begins CD


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.