Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > Hop Skip and Jump (CD Boxed Set)

    Collins Kids
    Hop Skip and Jump
    (CD Boxed Set)

    The Collins Kids were a brother & sister act that got real good real young and made it out of their native Oklahoma, settling out in California where they landed a radio/TV hookup with Tex Ritter's Town Hall Party out of Compton.

    Older sister Lorrie handled the teenage-sensuality department with nylons rustling against cowgirl fringe, while little brother Larry was a hot-as-a-firecracker bundle of energy, boppin' all over the place while laying down excitable, twangy guitar breaks learned first-hand from another Town Hall Party regular, the King of the double-neck Mosrite, Joe Maphis.

    With all that in mind, what we have here is an excellent CD box set, two discs with booklet in an album-size format. Everything's here - from the great early sides like 'Beetle Bug Bop', 'The Cuckoo Rock', 'I'm in My Teens' and 'Rockaway Rock' to the rockabilly classics 'Just Because', 'Hoy Hoy', 'Mercy', 'Sweet Talk', and 'Party', through the Joe Maphis/Larry Collins guitar instrumentals to Larry and Lorrie's solo sides. Joe Maphis' great guitar is sprayed all over the place and the master tape transfer is as clear as you expect stuff out of the Columbia vaults produced by Don Law to be.

    A booklet crammed full of great live photos and excellent liner notes by Colin Escott round out the package.


    • 1Go Away Don't Bother Me
    • 2Rock 'n' Roll Polka
    • 3Move A Little Closer
    • 4My First Love
    • 5Hush Money
    • 6I Wish
    • 7Cuckoo Rock
    • 8Beetle Bug Bop
    • 9I'm In My Teens
    • 10Rockaway Rock
    • 11They're Still In Love
    • 12Make Him Behave
    • 13Hop Skip and Jump
    • 14Shortnin' Bread Rock
    • 15Just Because
    • 16Hoy Hoy
    • 17Hot Rod
    • 18Heartbeat
    • 19Mama Worries
    • 20Party
    • 21Walking The Floor Over You
    • 22Missouri Waltz
    • 23You Are My Sunshine
    • 24Soda Poppin' Around
    • 25Young Heart
    • 26Ain't You Ever
    • 27What'cha Gonna Do Now
    • 28Waitin' And Watchin'
    • 29Home Of The Blues
    • 1Lonesome Road
    • 2Early American
    • 3Rockin' Gypsy
    • 4Bye Bye
    • 5Hurricane
    • 6Mercy Mercy Mercy
    • 7Rock Boppin' Baby
    • 8Whistle Bait
    • 9Sweet Talk
    • 10Spur Of The Moment
    • 11Rebel Johnny Yuma
    • 12There'll Be Some Changes
    • 13Made
    • 14Fireball Mail
    • 15T-Bone
    • 16What About Tomorrow
    • 17Get Along Home Cindy
    • 18You've Been Gone Too Long
    • 19One Step Down
    • 20There Stands The One
    • 21Wild and Wicked Love
    • 22Hey Mama Moom A Lacka
    • 23More Than A Friend
    • 24Pied Piper Poodle
    • 25Blues In The Night
    • 26Another Man Done Gone
    • 27Sugar Plum
    • 28Kinda Like Love
    • 29Are You Certain
    • 30That's Your Affair.

    More from Collins Kids

    • Hoy Hoy CD
      Collins Kids
      Hoy Hoy CD
    • Rockin' & Boppin' CD
      Collins Kids
      Rockin' & Boppin' CD


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.