Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > My Ol' Guitar CD

    Gary Bennett
    My Ol' Guitar CD

    Former BR5-49 co-frontman GARY BENNETT steps out on Raucous Records with his second solo album My Ol' Guitar.
    This collection of 14 newly recorded songs was produced by Bennett and Marty Stuart's long time guitar slinger Kenny Vaughan.
    BR5-49 classics such as Even If It's Wrong, You Are Never Nice To Me, and Pain Pain Go Away are revisited and updated on the album alongside brand new songs that fans will instantly fall head over heels in love with.
    BR5-49 members Donnie Herron and Chris Scruggs are featured heavily throughout and the results are magical.
    My Ol' Guitar proves that Gary Bennett is a songwriting heavyweight with a voice that is smooth and distinct and a fantastic band behind him made up of some of Nashville's absolute finest.
    This is a must-have album for any fan of real Country music.

    Review by STU GIBSON:
    BR-549 co-founder here delivers a discreetly classic collection of new tunes escorted by some choices from his back catalogue on this second solo release. For the uninitiated the blueprint is Bakersfield country, Nashville balladry & vintae honky-tonkin' two-steps, working man done-wrong & being unduly wronged blues & pretty exquisite laments. A case - & one to keep out of the cabinet - of a troubadour accompanied by assorted compadres providin effective flourishes of fiddle, steel guitar & accordion all furnished by Bennett's keenin twang, reminiscent of Guy Clark. As with his former outfit the clear production may be too antiseptic for those hankering for a more lo-fi rider but even if it doesn't enulf the whole damned forest should you set the woods on fire it sure burns a mightily bright blaze as craftmanship comes to the fore.


    • 1Even If It's Wrong
    • 2Head Over Heels Again
    • 3I Ain't Gonna Do It Anymore
    • 4Five Years In One
    • 5Life Ain't Killed Me Yet
    • 6You Are Never Nice To Me
    • 7A Cold Day In Hell
    • 8Don't Leave Me Hangin'
    • 9Storybook Endings
    • 10While You Were Gone
    • 11Pain Pain Go Away
    • 12The Game
    • 13It Ain't Easy Being In My Head
    • 14My Ol' Guitar

    More from Gary Bennett (BR5-49)

    • You Are Never Nice To Me CD
      Gary Bennett (BR5-49)
      You Are Never Nice To Me CD
    • Human Condition CD
      Gary Bennett (BR5-49)
      Human Condition CD


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.