Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > At Last CD

    Blue Rhythm Boys
    At Last CD

    Seldom an album had a such perfectly suited title.
    This 19 songs album fulfills a wait of almost 10 years.
    Recorded over one hectic 10 hour session At Last finally shows the Blue Rhythm Boys on a long player, and it was worth the wait.
    The line-up has changed a bit since their debut EP. Ashley Kingman (Red Hot 'n' Blue, Rockin' Rocket 88, Big Sandy and His Fly Rite Boys) joins Paul Ansell and Jim Carlisle on second guitar, while Matt Jackson (a gifted guitarist too) is on drums and Nick Gilroy on bass.
    They take advantage of this fuller line-up to delve into a more rhythm and blues/Chicago blues repertoire.
    They are often close to the originals, and sometimes they play them in a rockin' blues way.
    Conway Twitty's I'll Try is played with a blues feel with pumping piano, soulful vocals and a scorching guitar solo that make this song one of my favorites.
    The frantic covers of Tommy Cassell's Go Ahead On and Jerry Lee's Breathless remind us that they started as a rockabilly band, as does Ansell's own Come On Back with another wild solo from Jim Carlisle (what a guitarist!).
    Another fave of mine is Cajun Love Affair with harp and some lyrics in French to add the Louisiana flavor.
    If you like good rockin' blues and rockabilly with a touch of soul here and there, get your hands on this one.
    All killer, no filler!
    Adapted from original review by FRED TURGIS (jumpingfrom6to6)


    • 1That's The Stuff You Gotta Watch
    • 2I'll Go Crazy
    • 3Person To Person
    • 4I'm Walkin'
    • 5It Isn't Right
    • 6Cajun Love Affair
    • 7Trace Of You
    • 8Crazy Mixed Up World
    • 9Ride and Roll
    • 10Babe's Comin' Home
    • 11Mother Hearth
    • 12I'll Try
    • 13Hootchie Coochie Man
    • 14Come On Back
    • 15Wang Dang Doodle
    • 16Breathless
    • 17Blue Rhythm Boogie
    • 18Go Ahead On
    • 19Catfish

    More from Blue Rhythm Boys


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.