Raucous Records Home Page
Shopping Basket :
£0.00 - 0 item[s]
show basket
Telephone Orders Call: 01253 872227


  • Home > A Strange Pleasure CD

    Chris Ruest & Gene Taylor
    It's Too Late Now CD

    It's Too Late Now was born after Gene Taylor relocated to Austin, Texas, and began to work with Chris Ruest.
    Covering a wide range of blues history, Taylor opening with Crazy Mixed Up World and then powers through Blue Smitty's Date Bait.
    He then turns to an earlier era with the lilting Lost and Lonely Child.
    Ruest's witty, New Orleans-inspired Keep Talking features his switchblade guitar over a Professor Longhair-esque piano figure and second-line drums.
    Taylor plays Little Johnny Jones to Ruest's Elmore James on That Will Never Do, and then cuts loose on the jumping Torpedo Boogie.
    The band pushes sizzling Texas-style rocker I Tried into the stratosphere.
    Ruest's Mr. Policeman comes across like a lost side from the early Sun Records days, whilst I'm Down rides a nervous, country blues rhythm.
    Taylor submits two gospel-inflected songs - the rollicking "oo Late to Stop Now with its slamming backbeat and Slipping Away to end the set.


    • 1Dirty
    • 2Tell Me
    • 3Wishmaster
    • 4Work Of Art
    • 5Smokin'
    • 6Normal
    • 7More Money
    • 8Down
    • 9Let It Inside
    • 10Take It Easy

    More from Double Cross


    Raucous Records is the longest establisted 1950s Rock 'n' Roll, Rockabilly and Psychobilly CD, DVD and vinyl specialist on the internet.A world of Rockabilly, Psychobilly, Surf, Swing and 1950s Rock 'n' Roll delivered to your door.